We didn’t ask permission, we just did it…
September 9, 2022 – February 12, 2023
CAM St. Louis

Press release
Communicado de prensa

Art Review

Ignacio González Lang, Open Mic. Fortaleza #302, 2000. Featured in M&M proyectos’ PR ‘00 Paréntesis en la Ciudad, Artistic Director Michy Marxuach, October 9–14, 2000, San Juan, Puerto Rico. Courtesy the artist and Michy Marxuach

We didn’t ask permission, we just did it…, guest curated by Embajada, revisits three seminal series of exhibitions in Puerto Rico, from 2000 to 2016, that ushered in an independent spirit of art making that is now prevalent in the region: M&M Proyectos’ PR invitationals, organized by Michy Marxuach; the Gran Tropical Bienals, founded by Pablo León de la Barra; and Cave-In, initiated by Mike Egan. The original projects, which took the form of idiosyncratic biennials, happenings, or interventions by artists working in an array of unconventional mediums and international in scope, in part spurred the self-reliant gallery community flourishing in San Juan, Puerto Rico today. The exhibition conveys the sense of the ambition, collective action, and self-sufficiency of the artist-makers in and from Puerto Rico, despite infrastructural limitations.

Exhibiting artists include: Allora & Calzadilla, Lucas Blalock, Borden Capalino, Carolina Caycedo, Lourdes Correa-Carlo, Edmee Feyyo, Radamés “Juni” Figueroa, Jorge González Santos, Vanessa Hernández Garcia, Federico Herrero, Alana Iturralde, Jessica Kaire, Esther Kläs, Ajay Kurian, Ignacio González Lang, Alexis Ledesma, José Lerma, Manuel Mendoza Sánchez, Liliana Porter, Daniel Lind Ramos, Matilsha Marxuach, Lionel Maunz, Andy Meerow, Jesús “Bubu” Negrón, Damián Ortega, Ernesto Pujol, Dhara Rivera, Jorge Rivera, Joel “Yoyo” Rodriguez, Monica Rodriguez, Marxz Rosado, Chemi Rosado-Seijo, Beatriz Santiago Muñoz, Edra Soto, Andra Ursuta, and Alterazioni Video.

We didn’t ask permission, we just did it… is generously supported in part by the Elizabeth Firestone Graham Foundation, Whitaker Foundation, Berezdivin Collection, Bernard I. Lumpkin and Carmine D. Boccuzzi, Nada and Michael Gray, and Eric and Tamara Schimmel. Special thanks to Barrett Barrera Projects.